Google Drive will soon be able to back up your entire computer. The Backup and Sync app is the latest version of Google Drive for Mac/PC and is integrated with Google Photos desktop loader.
- Google Drive For Mac/pc Is Going Away Soon
- Google Drive For Mac/pc Is Going Away Soon Message
- Google Drive For Mac/pc Is Going Away Soon Pop Up
- If you have the Google Drive Sync Client installed, Backup and Sync will replace it. The functionality will be largely that of the Google Drive Sync Client as it exists today, but with added options for people who only want to back up without have to perform a two-way sync.
- Google Drive for Mac/PC is going away soon - migrate safely. Things are changing with Google Drive. If you are reading this, it could be because you googled the phrase 'Drive File Stream encountered a problem and has stopped.'
As previously announced, the old Drive desktop sync client for Mac and PC—a feature officially known as “Google Drive for Mac/PC”—will start to shut down on May 12th, 2018. After May 12th, the sync client may not work for bConnected Google accounts.
Please note: Google Drive on the web has NOT been discontinued; you can still access it from https://drive.google.com!
Here are some important things to know about the retirement of the legacy desktop sync client:
1. If you haven’t already, upgrade to a newer sync solution-- Drive File Stream or Backup and Sync.
For more details, see: What are the Google Drive File Stream and Backup and Sync desktop apps?
2. The turn-down will be gradual.
Google will start the shutdown process on May 12th, but it will be gradual and may take several weeks to impact all organizations. After May 12th, however, updates to files may stop syncing between your computer and Drive, so we recommend upgrading by that date.
Google Drive For Mac/pc Is Going Away Soon
3. Once the client shuts down for you, the Google Drive folder will stop syncing.
When the legacy Google Drive desktop sync client shuts down, it will stop syncing the Google Drive folder to Google Drive. The local Drive folder (containing your files) will not be deleted from the machine, but changes made inside this folder will no longer sync to Drive. We don’t recommend editing files inside of this folder after May 12th, as it could lead to users misplacing their edited files (not realizing that this folder isn’t syncing to Drive). To avoid confusion, you may want to delete the legacy Google Drive folder. By default, this folder is located at:
- Windows: “C:Users%USER%Google Drive”
- macOS: “/Users/$USER/Google Drive”
Google Drive For Mac/pc Is Going Away Soon Message
Use caution when deleting this folder, as it may contain content that has not yet been saved or synced.
Google Drive For Mac/pc Is Going Away Soon Pop Up
For more information, refer to article Important additional information about the legacy Google Drive desktop sync client shutdown on May 12.