1. Quicken For Mac Reviews
  2. Quicken Deluxe 2017 For Mac
HomeQuicken for MacErrors and Troubleshooting (Mac)MacMac
edited November 2018 in Errors and Troubleshooting (Mac)
My rMBP is running macOS Mojave 10.14 build 18A389. Quicken 2017 version 4.6.8 runs fine. Version 4.7.2 and 4.7.3 both hang with the beach ball of death shortly after launch. Any plans to fix the hang? Thanks.

Quicken Deluxe contains more personal finance management tools than any competitor, but it's relatively expensive and many features aren't available in the mobile apps. PCMagLogo.2016 Reviews. Quicken Alternatives for your MAC: There are a plenty of bad personal financial software for MAC out there in the market. Here we will narrow down some of the alternatives to Quicken for MAC 2017. These alternatives if not better than Quicken are as good as Quicken to solve all your money management needs. All the alternatives.

Quicken For Mac Reviews

Comments

Quicken Deluxe 2017 For Mac

  • edited September 2018
    macOS 10.14 Mojave is not scheduled for full release until Sep 24. You would have to wait until then to follow up on that issue.
    (If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.)

    If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.

    (Canadian user since '92, STILL using QM2007)
    Have Questions? Check out these FAQs:
    • Quicken Windows FAQ list
  • edited October 2018
    Dana, they will no doubt release an update after Mojave ships, if they determine something is broken in Quicken 2017 once Mojave is final. The general advice is to not try to be the first on your block to upgrade your operating system each year; you're already running a production/live program on a beta, so you've decided to deal with the consequences of being on the bleeding edge. I typically wait months after the release of a new OS to allow my software apps to play catch up and get past the initial bugs and problems.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited September 2018
    Jacobs, I have been running the developer previews of all 4 OS’ since WWDC because I am a developer helping Apple find and fix bugs. I expect to have software issues. I am running the candidate golden master of Mojave and wanted to alert Quicken of the problem. If there are no plans to fix then I will have to stay on 4.6.8 or go to 2018. Thanks.
  • edited September 2018

    Jacobs, I have been running the developer previews of all 4 OS’ since WWDC because I am a developer helping Apple find and fix bugs. I expect to have software issues. I am running the candidate golden master of Mojave and wanted to alert Quicken of the problem. If there are no plans to fix then I will have to stay on 4.6.8 or go to 2018. Thanks.

    Got it. FYI, the Quicken developers typically aren't looking here for bug reports.
    They might be aware of a problem with Mojave, and have a fix they plan to release around the time Mojave ships. Or they might not be performing their full testing on old versions until Mojave ships, with a plan to release a compatibility update if needed within a month. But Quicken 2017 is still supported software, so if there is a bug with Mojave, they will definitely need to get it fixed.
    About all you can do is wait until Mojave ships, and then use the Report a Problem feature on the Quicken Help menu if the problem still exists.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited September 2018
    Running the released version of Mojave (18A391) and new version 4.8.0 hangs. The last version I can run is 4.6.8
  • edited September 2018
    Great.... Glad I did not upgrade to Mojave after downloading it just now.
  • edited September 2018
    Tech support just confirmed to me on the phone that 2017 and 2018 are NOT yet compatible with Mojave.
  • edited September 2018

    Tech support just confirmed to me on the phone that 2017 and 2018 are NOT yet compatible with Mojave.

    Well, that's not true because I have Quicken Mac 2017 4.8.0 (48.19879.100) and it works perfectly with Mojave.
    What I would like to see though, is Dark Mode options for Quicken Mac. That would make it look unbelievably cool.
  • edited September 2018

    Tech support just confirmed to me on the phone that 2017 and 2018 are NOT yet compatible with Mojave.

    'Not compatible' doesn't necessarily mean that none of the software works; it means that at least some part of the software doesn't work properly. Therefore, as with many Quicken issues, the saying 'your mileage may vary' is often true: some users are affected by a problem that needs to be fixed, while others don't encounter the problem and find it works perfectly for them. One key for users is to know to proceed with significant caution, making ample backups of both the application and data file, if rushing to upgrade to a new version of macOS -- or waiting until the next release that is certified compatible with Mojave comes out. The other key is that the development team is apparently aware that there are some compatibility issues, so appropriate tweaks can be made in a forthcoming update.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited September 2018

    Tech support just confirmed to me on the phone that 2017 and 2018 are NOT yet compatible with Mojave.

    Yeah...but for Quicken Support to say that Quicken Mac 2017 ISN'T compatible with Mojave is wrong. That's incorrect advice being disseminated to Quicken users.
    If they would say that there are compatibility issues and bugs, now that's a different story.
  • edited September 2018

    Tech support just confirmed to me on the phone that 2017 and 2018 are NOT yet compatible with Mojave.

    If for some people it simply hangs on launch, as users have posted above, then saying that it has not yet been updated for compatibility with Mojave seems entirely appropriate. The Support staff almost certainly doesn't have details, and even if they did, they are not going to try to parse what is known to work and not work in order to tell a user 'well, it's not supported, but you can take your chances.' As long as they know there are compatibility issues, the simple and right thing to tell users is that it's not yet compatible.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited November 2018
    I am running macOS 10.14.1 beta 2 Mojave and I installed and updated to Quicken 2017 v4.8.0 and it is working fine so far. It doesn't conform to Dark Mode though. I hope it will with the next update.
  • edited October 2018

    I am running macOS 10.14.1 beta 2 Mojave and I installed and updated to Quicken 2017 v4.8.0 and it is working fine so far. It doesn't conform to Dark Mode though. I hope it will with the next update.

    Dark mode raises a number of interesting questions:
    1) Quicken has a lot of screens -- more than most typical applications. If they are all created using standard Apple system calls, it might be possible to implement dark mode without a lot of work. But my guess is that it's more likely that it would take a lot of work because of the complexity of the screens (e.g. multiple regions, animated graphs) developed over time with potentially different tools (e.g. the new reports screens might be created differently than screens which date back to Quicken Essentials circa 2010). Would this take a week or two of work, or many weeks or months?
    2) The developers' approach over the past several years has mostly (not exclusively) been to tackle functionality that simply doesn't exist and areas of the program that don't work well or correctly, and to put on the back-burner things that work but could be enhanced. Dark Mode seems to fall into the latter area; it's definitely not necessary to do what people need to do in Quicken, but some users think it would be nice to have. Should this be a higher priority to keep up with a new Apple technology than missing features or feature refinements users have been clamoring for for years?
    I have no insight into the answers to either question -- and we likely would only learn something if product manager Marcus happens to mention they are/aren't working on it in one of his posts. I just thought it was worth noting that it's not a 'no-brainer' for Quicken to implement dark mode.
    And your specific question raises one more: if they implement dark mode, will they go back and add it for Quicken 2017 users? Quicken 2017 continues to get updates for bug fixes and some functionality issues, but it certainly doesn't get all the changes implemented in Quicken 2018/2019. Unless it's a very easy change to implement, my guess is that if/when dark mode appears in Quicken, it will only be for the current product, and not the older version(s) which are still supported.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited October 2018

    I am running macOS 10.14.1 beta 2 Mojave and I installed and updated to Quicken 2017 v4.8.0 and it is working fine so far. It doesn't conform to Dark Mode though. I hope it will with the next update.

    These companies have resources. I think they should be able to do both, add essential features and Dark Mode. It would be especially nice if they did it for Quicken 2017. I've been testing Banktivity 7 on Mojave and the Dark Mode is better for eyesight. In some areas of Banktivity's user interface, it still lags behind Quicken though.
  • edited October 2018

    I am running macOS 10.14.1 beta 2 Mojave and I installed and updated to Quicken 2017 v4.8.0 and it is working fine so far. It doesn't conform to Dark Mode though. I hope it will with the next update.

    It is not about having the resources. Quicken typically does not add new functionality to older versions, even supported ones. And this is new functionality. So unless it interferes with the usage of QM2017, it is highly unlikely it will be added to QM2017.
    Also, Quicken is moving towards only supported one version. So their focus is the latest version.
    That said, since 2019 is sharing more and more of its code with 2018, 2017 and even 2016 (if not all the code) there is a small chance that if/when they develop this for 2019, they will enable it for other supported versions BUT their stated goal is to move users onto only one version, so again, this is highly unlikely.
    BTW, in case you missed it, Quicken quietly moved to naming it 2019 only yesterday. It is still the same Quicken 2018 just renamed...most likely to accommodate the old naming convention and communicate the move away from / expiration of the older versions.
    (If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.)

    If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.

    (Canadian user since '92, STILL using QM2007)
    Have Questions? Check out these FAQs:
    • Quicken Windows FAQ list
  • edited October 2018

    I am running macOS 10.14.1 beta 2 Mojave and I installed and updated to Quicken 2017 v4.8.0 and it is working fine so far. It doesn't conform to Dark Mode though. I hope it will with the next update.

    John, I'm not sure what group of 'these companies' you're putting Quicken into, but the fact is that the Quicken Mac team does not have unlimited resources. Implementing dark mode would mean delaying some other functionality. If it's a quick thing to do, then it's probably a very straightforward choice, but if it's a lot of work to complete, it's a more complex choice.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited November 2018
    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah
  • edited October 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    Sarah, thank you for responding. Do you know if Quicken will release a future update making Quicken 2017 compatible with Dark Mode?
  • edited October 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    Since that would be considered a new feature and not a bug fix, I highly doubt it. You should monitor when QM2019 gets that feature. When it does, then you will see if they will make this available to QM2017. But again, highly doubt it.
    (If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.)

    If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.

    (Canadian user since '92, STILL using QM2007)
    Have Questions? Check out these FAQs:
    • Quicken Windows FAQ list
  • edited October 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    Whether they add dark mode functionality or not, they very rarely pre-announce future features. And as smayer97 says, a feature like this generally wouldn't get added to a prior version -- unless keeping the code base in common with the current version makes it easier for them to continue supporting Quicken 2017 for the rest of its remaining life.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited November 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    when I went updated to Mojave I can not open Quicken Essentials. it saids you can't use this version of the application with this verison of macOS. where is a link to update my Quicken Essentials so I can open Quicken.
    CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME so I can open Quicken again
  • edited November 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    You have to purchase the new subscription via Quicken.com or via third parties like Amazon, Best Buy, etc.
    (If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.)

    If you find this reply helpful, please be sure to click 'Like', so others will know, thanks.

    (Canadian user since '92, STILL using QM2007)
    Have Questions? Check out these FAQs:
    • Quicken Windows FAQ list
  • edited November 2018

    I am running macOS 10.14.1 beta 2 Mojave and I installed and updated to Quicken 2017 v4.8.0 and it is working fine so far. It doesn't conform to Dark Mode though. I hope it will with the next update.

    Funny, the DAY after Mojave was released to the general public, with Dark Mode being an option, TWO other Mac financial software packages had dark mode available.
    And I use 'Dark Reader' with Chrome and Mojave...which converts ANY webpage to Dark Mode.
    So, no...it can't be that difficult to do.
    Just look at the Mac App Store and see all the apps that now support Dark Mode. These AREN'T new apps either.
    And Dark Mode apparently is controlled by the Preferences in Mojave...because the software that I have downloaded that use Dark Mode have no settings...they just pick it up from the operating system.
    I even have Dark Mode on my Windows 10 partition now.
  • edited November 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    Quicken Essentials is not supported in Mojave.
    Either roll back to High Sierra using Time Machine or purchase a subscription to Quicken Mac 2019, which will convert your QE data file.
  • edited November 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    Rebecca, Quicken Essentials has not worked with the last two Mac operating systems, either. Support for Quicken Essentials ended in April 2015. You can continue to use Essentials if you re-intall your operating system with El Capitan (10.11) or earlier.
    It's not easy to roll back your operating system; upgrading your Quicken is probably a lot easier and faster. Note that although Quicken is now sold as a subscription product, as long as you buy Quicken Deluxe, not Starter, you can buy a subscription for one year and then discontinue your subscription; you'll lose data downloading (but you haven't had that for years with Essentials, so I'm assuming you don't need it) and be able to continue to use Quicken 2019 manually indefinitely.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited November 2018

    I am running macOS 10.14.1 beta 2 Mojave and I installed and updated to Quicken 2017 v4.8.0 and it is working fine so far. It doesn't conform to Dark Mode though. I hope it will with the next update.

    Wannabe, it's largely a question of where Quicken's developers put their time and effort. I haven't seen anything official from the company to address this, but my perception is that they know they need to keep pushing hard to add features and capabilities that Quicken Mac cannot currently do. Dark mode is cosmetic, an aesthetic feature -- no doubt desirable to some users, but not solving any of the functional shortcomings of the program -- so it may be lower on their priority list than other features.
    Quicken is a program with a large number of different screens, windows, tabs and panels, so it likely takes more work to make it able to run dark mode than many other applications with simpler screens.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • edited November 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    jacobs, i just have quicken essentials for Mac and been able to use on the my computer. now maybe some things don't work BUT for me to post credits and debits and balance personal accounts then it's fine. BUT I just need to be able to get the info back because of course I didn't do a backup before i updated to mojave. I didn't realize it was a new operating system. just thought it was updating color and such . my fault for not reading everything. PLUS, it didn't say that Quicken is not compartible with the new operating system. SO if I download Quicken 2019 do you think it will open up my old stuff. PER Quicken they said you can't do anything other than go back to the previous operating system WHICH is a long process and will I have all the work still on the computer. Considering I did not do a back up on my portable drive.
  • edited November 2018

    Hello All,
    I just wanted to take a moment to confirm that all currently supported versions of Quicken for Mac (2016, 2017 and 2018/2019) are compatible with the newest MacOS Mojave. This information has also been updated in our system requirements available at https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken-system-requirements.
    Thank you,
    Sarah

    Yes, Quicken 2019 will import your Quicken Essentials data file and convert it.
    QMac 2007 & QMac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
Coments are closed
Scroll to top